Skip to main content



Personalised pastoral care

At Willingdon Community School we strive to achieve our own levels of Personal Excellence.  We are Ambitious, Respectful, Compassionate, Courteous and Honest. We place  a great emphasis on our personalised pastoral care, taking the time to listen to and support our students and parents.  We have high expectations of uniform, behaviour and attendance both in lessons and in our wider community that we serve.  We have a robust rewards system ensuring all students are recognised when they meet or exceed our expectations.

The pastoral system is led by an Assistant Headteacher and 2 Associate Assistant Headteachers.  Each year group has a Head of Year and a Pastoral Support Leader (PSL).  The Head of Year leads a team of 7 tutors in each year group.  The PSL’s are non-teaching support staff which are assigned to an individual year group. In addition to this, we have bespoke nurture provision within the Inclusion Team, a Welfare Officer, Student Support staff for medical needs and we also offer counselling from an external practitioner.  Students have a timetabled lesson daily with their pastoral tutor and they support the students with their careers aspirations and Relationship and Sexual Health Education too. We are proud to be able to deliver timetabled lesson on Mindfulness at Willingdon with a designated teacher delivering these inspiring and reflective sessions.

Pastoral Leadership

Deputy Headteacher – Mrs Nadene Townsend-Smith

Head of Year

Year 7 – Mrs Lesley Naylor / Miss Paige Martin

Year 8 – Mr Tom Cain

Year 9 – Mrs Zoe Kemp / Mr Jason Thornton

Year 10 – Mr Lee Gordon

Year 11 – Mr Anthony Roche

Pastoral Support Leaders

Year 7 - Mrs Davina Taylor

Year 8 - Mx Rain Page

Year 9 - Mrs lisa Brockman

Year 10 – Mrs Carrie Meanwell

Year 11 – Mrs Davina Taylor

Pastoral Support Staff

Mindfulness Teacher – Mrs Aly Burton

Welfare Officer – Mrs Lorraine Lamberton and Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Attendance Manager – Mrs Diane James

Back To Top

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our web site.
Please refer to our Privacy Policy for more information.